Kegaska
La Romaine
Chevery
Harrington Harbour
Tête-à-la-Baleine
Mutton Bay
La Tabatière
Pakua Shipi
Saint Augustine
Old Fort Bay
St. Paul's River
Middle Bay
Brador
Lourdes de Blanc Sablon
Blanc Sablon
Protecting Wildlife
Vegetation
Fish
Seabirds
Land Mammals
Marine Mammals
By Car and Ferry
By Plane
By Snowmobile
Kayaking
Hiking
Wilderness Camping
Cruises and boat tours
Wildberries Picking
Hunting and fishing
Whale Watching
Iceberg Viewing
Bird Watching
All-Terrain Vehicles
Snowmobiling
Snowshoeing and Skiing
Ice Fishing
Winter Festivals
Portrait of the Region
Our villages
History
Culture and heritage
Practical information
FAQ
Testimonials
Museums
Gift shops
Events
Accommodations
Outfitters
Restaurants
Suggested routes
Packages
  Home   Français
Contact Us
News
About Us
Guestbook
Video
Did you know
All inclusive packages to explore the Lower North Shore could be offered all year long. Find out more!
Discover the region > Our villages > Kegaska Print this page
Kegaska

Back to map

POPULATION: 130
WHAT TO KNOW

The village of Kegaska is located at the western entrance of the Lower North Shore, about 60 kilometres (37 miles) past the end of the road in Natashquan. Kegaska was built along the shore of two bays and an island connected by bridge. The name Kegaska comes from the Innu word quegasca. This may refer to the shortcut and easy passage at high tide between the mainland and the islands.

Archaeological artifacts attest to early Aboriginal presence in the area. In 1831, the Hudson’s Bay Company held a salmon-fishing and trading post at the mouth of the Kegaska River. In the early 1850s, Acadian families from the Magdelen Islands settled in Kegaska. They left in the 1870s, possible due to a diphtheria epidemic. In 1855, English-speaking settler Samuel Foreman arrived from Nova Scotia. He was joined by a number of Newfoundland families, who later moved away. Today’s families mostly descend from English-speaking families who arrived from Anticosti in the late 19th century. While the community once depended on cod, crab is presently the main catch.


Kegaska in the summer


Kegaska in the winter

WHAT TO SEE
  • The Brion shipwreck: See the remains of the wreckage of a cargo ship from the Magdelen Islands that struck a shoal near the village in 1976.
  • St. Philip’s Anglican Church: This village church is open to visitors.
  • Foreman’s Saw Mill: Remains of this historic sawmill which once provided the lumber that built most of the village are still standing.
WHAT TO DO

IN SUMMER : Hiking and walking, bird and whale watching, iceberg viewing, boat tours, sea kayaking, berry-picking, salmon fishing, wilderness camping, ATV

  • Brion trail: This trail takes you to the remains of the Brion - a cargo ship that sunk near Kegaska in 1976. The walking path passes through the village and to prime picnic areas. You can observe bird and marine life from the trail.
  • Sandy beaches: Just in front of the village, beautiful sandy beaches provide additional opportunities to walk, dig clams, and watch for birds and whales.

IN WINTER : Snowmobiling, ice fishing, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, winter carnival, hockey tournaments

WHERE TO STAY
  • Auberge Le Brion
    Kégaska (QC)
    G0G 1S0
    Tel: (418) 726-3738
    Fax: (418) 726-3738
    www.kegaska.com
RESTAURANTS
  • Bar & Restaurant de la Ville
    Kegaska (QC)
    G0G 1S0
    Tel : (418) 726-3100
  • Restaurant CJ’s
    Kegaska (QC)
    G0G 1S0
    Tel : (418) 726-3888
  • Auberge Le Brion
    Kégaska (QC)
    G0G 1S0
    Tel: (418) 726-3738
    Fax: (418) 726-3738
    www.kegaska.com
SUGGESTED ROUTES

Navigator's Route, Route blanche and One Land, Many Peoples

Send to a friend - Partners and Useful Links - Credits - Site map
Copyright © 2014 Tourism Lower North Shore. All rights reserved.